Call for Nominations

Fuchs award main page

The Fuchs Memorial Award Committee invites nominations for the 2022 Award, to be presented at the Eleventh International Aerosol Conference in Athens, Greece September 4-9, 2022.

This award, established in honor of the late Professor Nikolai Albertovich Fuchs (1895-1982), is given every four years in recognition of exceptionally meritorious research contributions to the field of aerosol science and technology.  The award is intended as a continuing recognition of Professor Fuchs' contributions to the international scientific community, as well as a means of encouraging the same high standards among contemporary scientists in conducting aerosol research.

The regulations and procedures are published on the IARA Web site. Questions concerning the award can be directed to the Award Committee Chair, Prof. Takafumi Seto. The deadline for all nominating materials is June 1, 2022.  The nominating materials, which must include at least three and up to six supporting letters, should be submitted electronically to the Award Committee Chair by the deadline date:

Prof. Takafumi Seto
Phone: +81-76-234-4815
School of Frontier Engineering
Kanazawa University
Kakuma, Kanazawa 920-1192

The Fuchs Award is jointly administered by the Gesellschaft für Aerosolforschung, the Japan Association of Aerosol Science and Technology, and the American Association for Aerosol Research.



Regulation and Procedure


1.   AWARD

A. The Fuchs award is intended to recognize outstanding original research contributions to aerosol science and technology.

B.  Preference shall be given to achievement by a single individual, but the award may be conferred upon a team of not more than three individuals, or shared by two individuals judged to be equally meritorious.

C.  The award consist of a certificate, a citation, invitation(s) to the award luncheon (or dinner), and a $10,000 award.  The cash award will be shared equally when two or more individuals are selected.)

D.  The award is made once every four years during the International Aerosol Conference.


A. Nominations of candidates for the award are invited by public announcement and by letter to individuals and institutions whose interests are related to aerosol research. Any member of any International Aerosol Research Assembly member organization may submit a nomination.

B. Nomination is made by a full letter of justification, including a curriculum vitae and bibliography. At least three supporting letters are to be included in the nomination. Members of the award committee are ineligible from writing reference letters for the candidates. The nominator is responsible for preparing the complete dossier for submission. Six copies are to be submitted to the Committee secretary by the published nomination deadline.

C.  Nominations will not be carried over to the following award period. However, any candidate can be renominated.

D.  Only living nominees will be considered. The nominee need not be a member of one of the aerosol organizations.


A. The award committee will be composed of two representatives from each of the three associations (American Association for Aerosol Research, Gesellschaft für Aerosolforschung and Japan Association of Aerosol Science and Technology).

B.  The award committee has the discretionary power to not select an awardee in any given period.


The members of the award committee are nominated for a period of 4 years with the option to be re-nominated for one more period.

The nominations of the representatives of each society shall take place no later than two years prior to the International Aerosol Conference where the award will be bestowed. The nominations will be solicited by the president of the society (out of the three societies mentioned in Sec. 3.) which is located in the continent where the International Aerosol Conference will take place

The award committee elects a chair who will handle all the organizational matter such as call for nominations for the award and arrangements for publishing it, election of the winner, production of the citation, announcement of the winner in the journals, etc.

The election of the chair of the committee is organized by the president of the society (out of the three societies mentioned in Sec. 3) which is located in the continent where the International Aerosol Conference will take place.

The Award Committee Chair collects nominations files, checks their completeness and legibility and sends them to the committee members, seeking their evaluations.

The Chair receives and summarizes the evaluations of all committee members and informs them about the results. On this basis each committee member proposes the Award winner(s). The propositions are discussed and the one that gained the support (votes) of at least 2/3 of the Committee members is selected as the decision of the Award Committee.  

The evaluations and discussion of propositions are performed in strict confidentiality.    

The society located in the continent where the International Aerosol Conference will take place handles all financial matters:  (1) supplies the checks to the awadee(s),  (2) prepares the invitation to the award luncheon, (3) collects the money from the other society for the award.  

All voting of the committee can be done by internet/E-mail.    


  Return to IARA Main Page