## **International Aerosol Research Assembly Board Meeting**

## Place: @ AAAR 2013 in Portland, Oregon. Thursday 3rd October from 11:30 to 2 pm, Room A 108

## MINUTES

1. Greetings and Introduction, Kaarle Hämeri, President IARA

The following were the attendees: Kaarle Hämeri (President), Mansoo Choi (Vice President), Pratim Biswas (Secretary), C.J. Tsai, H. Sakurai, I. Riipinen, C.T. Lee, S. Kreidenweis

We have 15 Associations, 7 countries were represented.

2. Approval of Minutes (EAC 2012, Granada), Pratim Biswas

There were no questions or comments, and the minutes were accepted.

3. Update on IAC 2014, Busan, Korea, Mansoo Choi

Update by Hedong Jang. Circulated a handout with details. The Abstract receipt deadline has been set for Feb 2014. There were a range of Hotels available around the Convention Center with varying prices.

Couple of Committees such as an International Advisory Committee; Technical Program Committee (consisting of domestic and international members); Local Organizing Committee will guide the planning and organizational process.

An exhibition was planned. A set of Tutorials would lead off the Technical Program, followed by Plenaries each day and set of parallel sessions.

The expected attendance was 1200. Visa Instructions – please post on website

4. Update on IAC 2018, Pratim Biswas

St. Louis was selected as the site; and a contract has been signed with the Convention Center downtown. Two major hotels were selected as the Conference Hotels.

5. Report of International Aerosol Fellow Award (IAFA) Committee, Ian Colbeck

Ian could not attend but sent a report. He would like to renew the Committee. Ian was recommending that we invite each Member Association to nominate candidates. Nominations should go to Kaarle Hameri, President, IARA by November 1.

If we get 6 or so, all can be accepted. If more, we can have an email discussion followed by voting. Call will go out early January. Decision made by end of May 2014

Current members include: Dennis Boulad, David Broday, Chi Chao (Taiwan), Mayya (india), Kasper (GAEF), Ian Colbeck (Chair) 6. Report of Fissan-Pui-TSI (FPT) Award Committee, Mansoo Choi

Mansoo to contact and post in Journals. He will also contact Ian and Rick to ensure the other awards nominations are sought.

Forward single email to delegates with announcement (see handout)

7. Finance Committee Report , Don Clark

In his absence, his report was handed out.

Expenses – IARA Plaque, Website Provider fee

Income – from Conference Host. Host country association pays 3 times registration fee to IARA

This motion was accepted.

8. Website committee report, James Allan

A suggestion was made to post delegate names and email IDs.

9. Report and Discussion of Aerosol Pioneers, Gilmore Sem

Gil Sem – IARA list Aerosol Pioneers: Need to find a replacement for Gil (he is stepping down). It was suggested that Hanna Vehmaki be a possible Editor

10. Matters arising - All

Fuchs Award – Rick Flagan (Chair) – operate independently ; but will collaborate in the marketing

IAC 2014 - a time slot for IARA Board Meeting to be set by Mansoo Choi

The 2015 IARA Board Meeting will be in Milan

Pending no further items for discussion, the meeting was adjourned.