## **Minutes of 2008 IARA Delegates Meeting**

Place: AAAR 2008 in Orlando, U.S.A.

Time: Wednesday, October 22, 2008 at 12:00

Participants:

President:

David Pui AAAR <u>dyhpui@umn.edu</u> (delegate)

Vice President:

Kaarle Hämeri FAAR <u>kaarle.hameri@helsinki.fi</u> (delegate, not attended)

Secretary General:

Mansoo Choi KAPAR <u>mchoi@snu.ac.kr</u> (delegate)

**Treasurer:** 

Alan Cussens AS <u>Alan@cussens.co.uk</u>

(not attended, but sent a report)

Delegates:

Philip Hopke AAAR <u>hopkepk@clarkson.edu</u> (delegate)

Yoshio Otani JAAST <u>otani@t.kanazawa-u.ac.jp</u> (delegate)

Motoaki Adachi JAAST <u>adachim@chemeng.osakatu-u.ac.jp</u> (delegate)

Kari Lehtinen FAAR <u>kari.lehtinen@fmi.fi</u> (delegate)

Chuen-Jinn Tsai TAAR <u>cjtsai@mail.nctu.edu.tw</u> (not delegate)

Akinori Takami JAAST <u>takamia@nies.go.jp</u> (delegate)

Gilmore Sem AAAR <u>ggsem@comcast.net</u> (delegate)

Chaim Gutfinger IAAR <u>gutfinge@technion.ac.il</u> (delegate)

Oliver Bischof GAef <u>oliver.bischof@tsi.com</u> (delegate)

Sangsoo Kim KAPAR <u>sskim@kaist.ac.kr</u> (delegate)

The minutes of the 2007 IARA Delegates Meeting were approved.

AS

- Planning report for IAC 2010, Helsinki was made by Kari on behalf of Kaarle. Conference office was recruited and the Conference will be held from 29 August to 3 September, 2010. Kaarle sent the invitation of international advisory committee members to IARA member associations. Local organizing committee members will be determined soon. Five to ten plenary lectures and 300-400 oral presentations are expected together with several hundreds poster presentations. Two day aerosol history symposium and tutorials will be also held during the conference. The first call for papers and IAC 2010 homepage will be finalized soon and should be posted on IARA website.
- 3. Award committee report made by Helmut Horvath was approved. Kaarle and Helmut bestowed the International Aerosol Fellow Award to Gerhard Kasper and Charles Clement during EAC 2008 conference in Greece. Helmut wanted to thank award committee members, Boulaud Denis, David Broday, Chih C. Chao, Ian Colbeck, and Y.S. Mayya for their excellent works in selecting the candidates. The next award will be bestowed during IAC 2010 and the deadline for nomination will be May 1, 2010. The amendment of the bylaw of the International Aerosol Fellow Award was approved (see the attached ). Gil Sem reported that Fissan-Pui-TSI award will be given in 2010 and award fund is handled by AAAR.
- The financial report made by Alan was approved. The Bank Balance on the last report was \$3,515.45. This remained the balance until August this year when Alan reimbursed Helmuth Horvath for his costs concerning the awards. After these costs

- and the associated charges the balance stands at \$2,903.62. The bank has recently written to say that they deducted another \$14.60 without explanation. Alan will ask to find the reason. The account is held by the HSBC Bank.
- 5. Chuen-Jinn Tsai reported on IARA website. IARA website will be switched to Godaddy (Indian company) from Yahoo with US \$ 268 for five years.
- 6. Gil Sem talked about the plan for Aerosol Pioneer nomination procedure. Gil Sem is going to prepare 1 page template for candidate nomination and will send the format to delegates of IARA by the end of February of 2009. Nominations from each association should be sent to Gil by the end of June, 2009. Through email vote, the final list for Aerosol Pioneer will be decided.
- 7. For IAC 2014, KAPAR showed interests in hosting the Conference. JAAST would support the hosting by KAPAR. Any association in IARA can submit a formal proposal for hosting IAC2014 by the 1<sup>st</sup> of August of 2009 to the President of IARA and the final hosting association will be decided in IARA 2009 meeting.
- 8. Some member associations reported status and their activities. AS reported that they are going to host 2011 EAC in Manchester. TAAR reported that AAQR now became SCI journal. JAAST corrected their member number to 600 people.
- Date and venue of the next meeting. The next meeting will be organized in connection with EAC2009 meeting in Karlsruhe.

Minutes written by Mansoo Choi