Minutes of 2009 IARA Delegates Meeting

Place: EAC 2009 in Karlsruhe, Germany

Time: Wednesday, September 8, 2009, at 12:00

Participants:

President

David Y.H. Pui AAAR <u>dyhpui@umn.edu</u>

Vice President

Kaarle Hämeri FAAR <u>Kaarle.hameri@helsinki.fi</u>

Secretary General

Mansoo Choi KAPAR <u>mchoi@snu.ac.kr</u>

Treasurer

Alan Cussens AS <u>Alan@cussens.co.uk</u>

(not attended but sent a report)

Delegates

Gilmore Sem AAAR ggsem@comcast.net

Charles Clement AS <u>charles.clement@btinternet.com</u>

Jungho Hwang KAPAR <u>hwangjh@yonsei.ac.kr</u>

Yong P. Kim KAPAR yong@ehwa.ac.kr

Aladar Czitrovszky H A.S <u>czi@szfki.hu</u>

Jan Matthijsen Dutch & Belgium AA <u>JAN.Matthijsen@pbl.nl</u>

Dauede Jenge Dutch & Belgium AA <u>ddjenge@ggd.amsterdam.nl</u>

Chung-Te Lee TAAR <u>ctlee@cc.ncu.edu.tw</u>

Ruprecht Jaenicke GAeF <u>jaenicke@uni-mainz.de</u>

Susanne Hering AAAR <u>Susanne@aerosol.us</u>

Michael Shapiro IAAR <u>Mersm01@technion.ac.il</u>

Helmuth Horvath GAef Helmuth.horvath@univie.ac.at

Denis Boulaud ASFERA denis.boulaud@irsn.fr

Evelyne Gehin ASFERA <u>gehin@univ-paris12.fr</u>

James Clark AS jclark@biral.com

Mattias Hallquist NOSA hallq@chem.gu.se

Kensei Ehara JAAST <u>ehara.kensei@aist.go.jp</u>

Jacob Klen¢ N¢jgaard NOSA <u>Jakn@dmu.dk</u>

- 1. The minutes of the 2008 IARA Delegates Meeting were approved.
- A formal proposal to host 2014 International Aerosol Conference (IAC) was
 presented by Yong Kim from KAPAR. KAPAR was unanimously approved as a
 host association for 2014 IAC.
- 3. Gil Sem reported the progress about Aerosol Pioneers posting. All are favor in current status of Aerosol Pioneers posting on IARA web site except the need of including one short paragraph describing important contributions of each pioneer. The need of a page mentioning famous scientists related to aerosol science such as Einstein has been identified and the page is going to be prepared by Charles Clement. The approval procedure for electing aerosol pioneers was discussed.

- 4. Report from the International Aerosol Fellow Award (IAFA) Committee: Committee chair Helmuth Horvath presented. The deadline for submitting IAFA recommendations is the 1st of May, 2010. There was a suggestion that scientists working other that academia should be also included as candidates and Helmuth told that committee members could resolve this issue by considering the balance among education, research, industrial activity, etc. The need of setting the minimum and maximum number of recommendation letters was identified.

 The Report from the Fissan-Pui-TSI (FPT) Award Committee: Committee chair Kaarle Hämeri presented. A new chairman for this award should be elected next year. Kaarle will invite committee members next year. The award will be given every 4 years in connection with the International Aerosol Conference.
- 5. Treasurer report was made by Don Clark instead of Alan Cussens. The bank balance stands at US\$2,889.02 in an International account by the HSBC bank.
 A discussion about the donation from IAC organizing committee was made and three times the registration fee is set as a guide line to be the amount that IAC hosting association could donate.

- 6. The report on IAC 2010 was made by Kaarle. Six parallel oral sessions are planned with 20 minutes total time per oral presentation. Five plenary lectures are planned with one lecture each day in the morning. Parties such as ice breaking welcoming party, Rector's reception, etc. are being prepared. On Wednesday, an excursion is planned. 800 people are expected to attend Conference dinner. Pre-conference workshops such as fine particles in combustions and their health effects are being planned. The normal registration fee will be 350 euro. The abstract deadline is Feb. 28, 2010. CD or memory stick containing proceedings will be provided without a printed version of proceedings.
- 7. Member associations reported their activities.

AS elected a new president. AAAR conference is going to be held at Minneapolis in the end of October and about 800 abstracts were submitted. ASFERA held annual meeting for two days and 33 oral papers and 12 posters were presented. ASFERA plans to host EAC in 2015 or 2016. TAAR reported that AAQR is now indexed by SCI. GAef has a steady number of 450 members and plans to hold workplace aerosol conference. IAAR held annual meeting and about 40 people attended and IAAR has an intention to host EAC in the future. JAAST held annual meeting of three days and member is decreasing due to economic situation. KAPAR held annual meeting and

about 300 people attended. NOSA held annual symposium and about 100 participants attended at Lund University. AARA(Asian Aerosol Research Assembly) is organizing 2009 Asian Aerosol Conference in Bangkok in November, 2009.

Minutes written by Mansoo Choi